top of page

Remote Sensing Space Systems Act  (RSSSA) Advisory Committee

RSSSA Advisory Committee members provide valued guidance and perspectives to GAC’s RSSSA regulatory team housed in the Non-Proliferation, Disarmament and Space Division on its ongoing regulatory process review.


The goal is to make Canada's regulatory environment globally competitive, understandable and accessible.

This public page provides transparency on the activities of the RSSSA Advisory Committee. 

RSSSA Advisory Committee

Angelica Liao-Moroz, Executive Director, Non-proliferation, Disarmament & Space Division, Global Affairs Canada

Deputy Chair, RSSSA Committee

Michelle Mendes, Executive Director, Satellite Canada Innovation Network

Chair, RSSSA Committee


Mathieu Benoit


Dr. Andrew Davidson - 

Associate Director - Research, Development and Technology

Agroclimate, Geomatics, Earth Observation and Agroecosystem Resilience 

Science and Technology Branch, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada


Stephanie Ferreira

Joanne Gabrynowicz

Prof. Joanne Irene Gabrynowicz, Emerita
Editor-in-Chief Emerita, Journal of Space Law


Sarah Gallagher, Director of the Institute for Earth & Space Exploration, Western University

Brian Gallant, CEO, Space Canada

Alex Kaptein,  DLR (German space agency)

Eric Laliberte

Wade Larson, EarthDaily

Gordon Rigby, MDA

Brian Statham

Christine Tovee, Wyvern

Wesley Wark


Daniel Denis

Manager of the Space Regulatory Section, Global Affairs Canada

 Space policy and the Remote Sensing Space Systems Act (RSSSA) (

Estelle Chou

Gordon Deecker

Meeting Notes

Click on the links to access the notes for each meeting.
Meeting #1 - April 27, 2023
Meeting #2  - June 29, 2023
Meeting #3 - September 21, 2023


Contact us

bottom of page